Quantify your cricketing judgments: ICC World T20 Fantasy tips Day 17

ICC-T20

People still label the Pakistan team as ‘unpredictable’ (myself included). But on further contemplation I feel they are the most consistent side. They always impress at the start of the tournament, then start fighting among themselves and then head back home. Someone needs to step up and sort things out in the Pakistan camp and that has to happen soon or it could take them a long time to become World-beaters again.

And then we come to our second most consistent team, South Africa. Always swamped with superstars, always threatening to win the tournament but somehow always finding a way to lose. Today’s loss to West Indies means that they would have to win their game against Sri Lanka and then hope for Lanka to beat England and then somehow sneak in to the knockouts with the help of their run rate.

West Indies on the other hand have secured their place into the knockouts and Australia have ensured that their final league game against India would be a quarterfinal.

A double header awaits us again. Let’s get to business!

 

Bangladesh vs New Zealand

Tranfers out: ABD, Imran Tahir

Transfers in: Martin Guptill, Corey Anderson/Ish Sodhi 

Screen Shot 2016-03-26 at 01.26.36.png

I already have Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rehman and Michael Santner in my team for this game.

This is a dead rubber and I hope both captains do no try and test their bench strength. Bangladesh have been knocked out and might want to give the players warming the benches some World Cup experience but I don’t think the kiwis would want to tinker with a winning combination. So, make your transfers only after the toss.

This game will be played in Kolkata and we can expect a rank turner especially in the second innings.

Apart from Ish Sodhi, I don’t think I would want to get any other New Zealand bowler into my team because none of them have been consistent so far.

I bring in Ish Sodhi only if New Zealand bowl second because the surface will assist him more then and I would rather save the transfer if New Zealand bowl first.

Guptill scored a brilliant 80 odd the last time round and when he is on song he can take the game away from the opposition. Kane Williamson is someone who is consistent but he won’t cause you much damage if you leave him out. Also, until now only 11.6% of the managers have gone in for him while a whopping 55.2% have gone for Guptill. So, you would lose a lot of ground if Guptill goes big and you don’t have him in your side. And thus I get Guptill in.

Corey Anderson hasn’t had a very good time with the bat but he has been very effective with the ball and I surely get him in if New Zealand bat first. But if New Zealand bat second, the Bangladesh spin attack could prove to be a lot to handle for Corey.

I have already given my reasons for leaving out Kane and Ross Taylor bats too low to make an impact. Tamim Iqbal is a notable exclusion because he hasn’t been in good touch in the Super 10s and against a good spin bowling attack I wouldn’t want to waste a transfer on him.

Mustafizur too hasn’t found his groove with the ball and leaks too many runs. Also, I can’t transfer out any more players from my team at this stage because of almost every player plays a match in the next day or two!

Captain for this game: Shakib Al Hasan

 

 Sri Lanka vs England

Transfers out: Martin Guptill. Corey Anderson

Tranfers in: Joe Root, Rangana Herath

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-03-26 at 01.42.33.png

This game is being played in Delhi you could expect the slow bowlers to play a huge role in this game.

I already have Moeen Ali and Adil Rashid in my side for this game.

The first player I bring in Rangana Herath. He has taken 17 wickets in 15 T20 internationals at an average of just 19.33 and the Delhi wicket will play into his hands. Also, the fact that England have four right handers in their top 5 would make things easier for Herath.

The other Sri Lankan bowler that interests me is Jefferey Vandersay. He had a brilliant last game but his T20 stats (2 wickets in 5 games) are not that great and hence I leave him out!

No other Sri Lankan player seems that trustworthy and this point and I would want to save transfers for consistent players rather than pick a player now and hope for them to perform.

The only English player that I pick is Joe Root, who for me is technically adept to play spin and pace and could anchor the England side to a good total tomorrow!

 Captain for this game: Adil Rashid/Rangana Herath(depeding on whichever team bowls second)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

